Let When the serve comes over and touches the top of the net, anyone on the court can call “Net,” meaning just that … the ball has touched the top of the net coming over. But only the receiving team can label the point as a “Let,” meaning that after the ball had touched the net, it then landed in the service box and the opposing server get another first/second serve.
In professional tennis, players are not allowed to challenge a let call. Is it ‘let’ or ‘net?’ Some players mistakenly refer to a ‘let’ as ‘net.’ If you hear a player call out a ‘net,’ it’s safe to assume they mean ‘let.’ Does a let count as a fault? No. A service let suggests the ball hit the net and successfully landed in the correct service box. The server should repeat their serve.
When a serve hits the net and continues across it, it's a "net." All that means is that that serve won't count as a serve, one way or the other. Ordinary folks won't bother with calling "net," they'll wait to see if:--the ball lands within the correct service box, then it's a "let" and the serve (1st or 2nd) is replayed, or
A let in tennis is called when a server strikes the net with the ball on his/her service, and the ball lands in the opponent’s service box legally (i.e., in the service zone). The distinction from a fault is that for a fault, the ball either:
The term LET is used instead of NET because the term NET refers to when the ball travels into the net rather than over it, which is considered a mistake. The service ball that is a fault is denoted by the letters NET, while the ball that tips the net and falls in the correct area of the court is denoted by the letters LET, allowing for a second attempt to be made.
Let is when the ball goes over the net and lands inside the box but hits the net going over, Let is only on a serve. Net is when the ball hits the net and fails to go get over the net.
The word LET is used as opposed to NET, because net is when the ball goes into the net, not over it, and is considered a fault. You might hear an umpire saying ‘Let, second service’ which means the first service was a fault and now it is time for the second service attempt, i.e. the serve fell outside the rectangular box where it should have.
A let in tennis occurs when the serving player touches the net on the first serve with the ball but the ball lands in the service box, touches the receiver, or when the serving player hits the ball with the racquet and the opponent was not ready. A let in tennis is not a fault and the server is given a second serve.
The serve is a let if: The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court. The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground.